View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share


Photo Gallery

Democrats choose new leadership

POSTED: March 10, 2011 5:20 p.m.
Photo provided/

Above, from left to right, are Homer Wallace, first vice-chairman of the Effingham Democratic Committee, Cathy Brantley, secretary, Gussie Nease, second vice chair, and Jack Garvin, chairman.

View Larger

The Effingham Democratic Committee elected new officers Feb. 17.

Gussie Nease, chairperson and Willie Webb, vice-chair, had to resign from their positions due to health reasons. The new officers are chairperson Jack Garvin and vice-chair Homer Wallace.

Retaining their positions are Hank Heller as treasurer and Cathy Brantley as secretary. Nease and Webb will continue to serve on the Effingham Democratic Committee.

 Nease expressed a desire for a fluid transition and continued growth.

“In the last year, we have revised our by-laws, tripled our membership, and hosted three community and candidate events,” she said. “I know I am leaving my position to a very capable person and I have all the faith in the world in Mr. Garvin and the team he has assembled.” Garvin applauded Nease’s community service.

“She has served the Effingham Democratic Party loyally,” he said. “When many changed parties because of pressure from others she remained true to her convictions. The Committee and the county have benefited from her commitment.”

The Effingham County Democratic Committee is the governing body for the Democratic Party of Effingham County. Claudia Collier of Faulkville was elected as the delegate to the State Democratic Committee.

“I am pleased to represent the citizens of Effingham county, and I will be a voice for rural Georgia’s issues and needs,” she said.


  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

  • There are no articles found.
  • There are no articles found.
  • There are no articles found.

© Copyright 2018 Effingham Herald All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...