View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share


Photo Gallery

Rincon elections to be held Tuesday

POSTED: November 4, 2013 10:21 p.m.

Voting will take place from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. today at the Vernon C. Hinely Center for Rincon municipal elections.

Three council seats are up this year. Incumbent Frank Owens opted not to run again, but incumbents Scott Morgan and Levi Scott Jr. are running to retain their posts. Also running for a seat on city council are Harry Capwell, Christina Shores Ricker and former mayor and council member George Saraf.

Incumbent mayor Ken Lee has no opposition and will return for a third term as mayor.

Guyton and Springfield also were scheduled to have municipal elections today, but all council seats have no opposition. In Guyton, aldermen Ulysses Eaton and Michael Johnson will retain their seats after qualifying and having no one else sign up to run. Springfield City Council members Charles Hinely and Kenny Usher also will keep their posts, while Jerry Maennche will join them on council. He will take the place of Katherine Pridgeon, who chose not to run for election after being appointed to city council in February.

Springfield Mayor Barton Alderman also qualified for another term without opposition.


  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

  • There are no articles found.
  • There are no articles found.
  • There are no articles found.

© Copyright 2018 Effingham Herald All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...